Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2011, 10:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4
New to me 55 gallon

Not sure if this is the place for this, but here gos. Have alot of questions about my new tank and already started on the wrong foot, which brought me here. Purchased a 55gal tank that was established that stayed dry for about a month while I moved into my new place. I had a friend help me with start up, as if the tank were brand new. I left it fishless for about a week. Just wondering if BB "drys" up after a while? I plan on getting a test kit ASAP but my fish are coming this week. Also have some media that was left there also, a hefty load of rocks with algae. Talked to the kid at the store and he said to get plants, so I bought 4 of them along with some feeder guppies and a few crayfish. Im doing a coldwater native tank with a pair of grass pickerels, Any thoughts??
__________________

__________________
soko44mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Hm. If it completely dried out then there's a good chance no bacteria are left on there. If that's the case your fish are going to be in trouble.

Do you have a liquid test kit, like the API kit? (not strips, which are innaccurate). IF not, get one now.

Also stop listening to the people at the fish store. They usually just want to sell you stuff and don't care about the quality of life for your fish.

First thing you should do is test the water parameters and post them here. If I were you I'd also cancel the fish order (or find someone who can house them while your tank cycles) and cycle fishless: The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling It'll be safer for your fish and a lot less work and worrying for you.

Hm, I just re-read your post. Do you already have fish in there (guppies, etc) or no? If you do, I'd take them back and go fishless, that's my strongest recommendation until your tank cycles.

If you really have to cycle with fish then read this: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! But be prepared for lots of water testing and daily water changes for the next 1-3 months.

Good luck!
__________________
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possible 55 gallon? allaboutfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 78 06-28-2011 04:20 PM
5 gallon hollywood11892 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-25-2011 02:16 PM
My 75 gallon stand with Marineland 530 canister plecoking DIY Projects 0 06-25-2011 01:44 AM
My 55 gallon fadetoblack06 Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 4 06-23-2011 06:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×