Newbie to Fish keeping!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Platiesareawesome

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello! I'm new to aquarium advice (and fish keeping) and I understand it is a good community. I am hoping to get a 10 gallon fish tank soon (hopefully with some platies in it). Anyway, I'd like to know if tetra safestart is a good product to cycle my tank with. I've done quite a bit of research so I understand the cycle fairly well. If it is a good product, do I need a source of ammonia to keep the beneficial bacteria alive until I get my fish? Also, are the following stocking ideas overstocked?:
3-5 platies
2-3 platies + 5 neon tetras (I really like platies) :fish2:

Thank you! :thanks:

Hello! I'm new to aquarium advice (and fish keeping) and I understand it is a good community. I am hoping to get a 10 gallon fish tank soon (hopefully with some platies in it). Anyway, I'd like to know if tetra safestart is a good product to cycle my tank with. I've done quite a bit of research so I understand the cycle fairly well. If it is a good product, do I need a source of ammonia to keep the beneficial bacteria alive until I get my fish? Also, are the following stocking ideas overstocked?:
3-5 platies
2-3 platies + 5 neon tetras (I really like platies) :fish2:

Thank you! :thanks:

Welcome to AA..

To keep ur bacteria alive u can add fish food but the thing is that is gonna be such a mess the day u want to put ur fish in

That does not sound over stocked at all.. i had 9 mollies in my ten gallon and they did perfectly fine.. they are also all family and tend to stick together...

Cool, thanks! I'm assuming a few balloon mollies is okay, right? I know they get kind of big...

Mollies get up to 2.5 from what ive seen. All of my girls are about 2 and my males are a lil smaller. As long as they seem comfortable.. you should be fine.