Nitrite Levels stuck?? fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dngo9

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, this is my first post since joining this site.

This is my first time having a fish tank. I recently bought a 10 gallon fish tank and luckily before i bought any fishes i researched about fishless cycling.

So I started my fishless cycling on Friday 29 June - Day 1 - added pure ammonia to reach 4ppm.

Day 8 - Friday 6 July - nitrites appeared at 5ppm - i added ammonia to reach 3ppm

Day 11 - Monday - 9 July - i tested my nitrites and when i tested it the water starts to turn purple at the bottom of the test tube straight away and i remember researching that it meant that nitrites are sky high!. i kept adding ammonia to 2-3ppm.

Day 13 - Wednesday 11 July - my p.h levels dropped to 6.0ppm so i decided to do a 50% water change and then it went back to 7.6ppm, nitrites were still high - by now ive been adding ammonia to 2ppm

Day 14 - Thursday 12 July - my p.h levels dropped the next day to 6.4ppm so i decided to do a 90% water change and tested the p.h levels and it was 7.6 and then i decided to add 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda which reached to p.h levels of 8.2.

Day 17 - Sunday 15 July - p.h 8.2, nitrites are still sky high, so i decided to add 1ppm of ammonia.

Day 22 - Friday 20 July - my p.h levels have been 8.2 eversince which is good, i am still adding 1ppm of ammonia. nitrites are yet still sky high.

NitrAtes have remained at 5.0ppm eversince I tested NitrItes on Day 8

I keep my temperature at 81 degrees and i keep my air stone on

I was wondering if i have stalled my cycle?

christine2012 said:
You probably didn't stall it, nitrite. -->nitrate takes a good while. I was hung on that phase for 5.5 weeks! The end is nigh! Lol

Oh haha did ur nitrites drop gradually? Or did all ur nitrites drop overnight?

dngo9 said: