Stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rauljr

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys I'm new to the hobby and to the forum.

I have just set up (3 days ago) a 56g tank. The dimesions are 30" W x 18" D x 24" H. I started a fishless cycle and hopefully that wont take to long as I'm eager to start putting my little guys in there.

I have my heart set on a koi angelfish. As far as comanions i was thinking.
- 8 dwarf neon rainbow fish (Melanotaenia praecox)
- 8 rummynose tetras
- 1 albino bristle nose pleco
- 2 electric blue rams

I have some fake plans and driftwood from the LFS. My filter is a Fluval 306.

Will this setup work? Any suggestions or concerns

If i'm not mistaken Koi can reach up to 3' in length. Those other fish would end up being an expensive snack for him :)

If i'm not mistaken Koi can reach up to 3' in length. Those other fish would end up being an expensive snack for him :)

A koi angelfish is just a type of angelfish not an actual Koi.

Hey guys I'm new to the hobby and to the forum.

I have just set up (3 days ago) a 56g tank. The dimesions are 30" W x 18" D x 24" H. I started a fishless cycle and hopefully that wont take to long as I'm eager to start putting my little guys in there.

I have my heart set on a koi angelfish. As far as comanions i was thinking.
- 8 dwarf neon rainbow fish (Melanotaenia praecox)
- 8 rummynose tetras
- 1 albino bristle nose pleco
- 2 electric blue rams

I have some fake plans and driftwood from the LFS. My filter is a Fluval 306.

Will this setup work? Any suggestions or concerns

Stock list sounds great.

Last edited:
A koi angelfish is just a type of angelfish not an actual Koi.

Oops misread it.. lol

I like the stocking list then after recognizing my blunder. Personally I might go with schools of 10 with the rummynose and rainbows.