Sump Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

trkchezz

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys and gals, looking for some advice/help/tips for building and maintaining a sump.

I recently bought a 75 gal tank to upgrade for a happier home for my discus. I'm currently running a canister filter and was looking at upgrading to a sump for easier maintenance, better filtration and more bio media.

I'm going to build an overflow, haven't worked out the details on the math yet, with a 3D background to hide all the plumbing. I was going to buy 2 20gal long tanks at petco, one for the sump one to take apart for the glass. Here is the design I have made so far. Thanks for any advice! ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1469536780.470861.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm no expert but that looks like a solid design. If you run into any trouble down the road look at uarujoey on YouTube.

I would make the last chamber where pump is as big as possible...
This is so you don't need to top off the tank constantly due to evap.
I really limit the amount of baffles in my sumps ,but to each their own.I have sumped since the 80's....
Eshopps makes a nice new overflow ,but you need to drill the back of tank..
ESHOPPS | Eclipse L

Looks ok, but why don't you just buy a professional plexiglass sump? If you are determined to build your own, why buy two tanks and tear one apart for the glass. Just buy the glass you need separately. Frankly, for a bit more money, I'd get a commercial sump.

Hey guys and gals, looking for some advice/help/tips for building and maintaining a sump.

I recently bought a 75 gal tank to upgrade for a happier home for my discus. I'm currently running a canister filter and was looking at upgrading to a sump for easier maintenance, better filtration and more bio media.