Tank mates for my Goldfish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TXaquaFanatic

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone!
So I just recently won a goldfish at an carnival, wooo hoo! I have been wanting to start up a aquarium for awhile and my fiancé thought she would be funny and told me if I win the goldfish at the carnival I could start a tank! Ha well I showed her, We (more me) are now proud owners of comet goldfish, its name is Alvin! I have him in a ten gallon tank with a small rock formation and 3 small fake plants. I really would like to add some more life to the tank put am afraid of one, over crowded the tank and two my filtration system not being able to keep up. I am wanting something other than goldfish in there. So figured since I really don't know anything about all of this since I am new at it, I would join a board and ask for peoples feedback. My local fish store dude says I shouldn't add anything else to the tank because goldfish are really dirty, is this a accurate statement? I know they are known to produce a lot of waste but to isolate the little guy just seems unfair. Thanks for any suggestions! oh also I have had him for about a month now and was wondering if adding companions now is too late.

Your fish store guy is right. In fact, a minimum of 30g is recommended for goldfish due to their large size once adults and large waste capabilities.

Here's a chart that can help explain:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1433774013.966186.jpg

If you set up like a 55g you could have some white cloud minnows and dojo loaches with him. That would make it a very lively tank.

Caleb