Too Many Rocks Possible?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bjbass

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to this hobby. I collected a bunch of rocks for my AGA 210 last night, but I was wondering if it is possible to overstock them. I just picked up a bunch of what I would call medium sized creek rocks for the bottom on my sand. I don't want to get to many in there that the tank glass couldn't take the weight? Is this possible?

i wouldn't worry about it as long as you have a nice sturdy, level stand for your tank. a 210 is quite large and can handle a lot of weight. maybe some pictures would be helpful? also, i'm guessing the rocks are fine and safe since they are from a creek, but if you want to be sure, you can drip some vinegar or acid (pH down is sulfuric acid and the #1 bottle of Nitrate test solution in API's kit is hydrochloric) here is a very helpful thread for this
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/river-rocks-rock-test-130944.html

wow, I never knew a little tank could hold so much, not worried about my 125g now lol
thank for the vid =)

Too many rocks for a small tank! Keep in mind that rocks take up valuable space that should be used for swimming fish. Also, rocks taken from local creeks are likely to have all sorts of pollutants from local sewage, street runoff, etc. and could also contain lime or other harmful minerals. Best bet for rocks is to buy them from a fish store instead of collecting them yourself. The above suggestion for chemically testing the rocks is excellent if you are determined to use locally-gathered pieces.

Wow that's a crazy awesome video! Love the Vivaldi music lol. I can't believe how strong tempered glass is lol.