Total Newbie with lots of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The Prime

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all, I'd like to start off by saying that I've been lurking here for a few days and I've already learned a lot.

Now, onto the questions! Some background information:

I just got a tank from my uncle, with most of the equipment already. (he doesn't know much about keeping a tank, and ultimately quit because of the hassle of upkeep) The tank is a 55 gallon long, with a HOB filter, and also has a UGF system. It already has lid/hood/lights and everything as well.

I only know what I've learned here, and very little from past experiences with tanks. I'd like to start off with a relatively low bioload to help me get used to taking care of my tank. I was thinking maybe a school of 6 or 8 small fish, and possibly a pair of larger fish (gourami, perhaps), and a pleco. Does this seem to be a reasonable bioload for a 55 gallon tank?

I'll be using artificial plants to start off, to keep things simple.

As for substrate, I still need to buy it, so if you have recommendations based on what I've already said. I have one 5 pound bag of gravel, but I'm not dedicated to using it at all. I noticed that it said on the back of the bag to add the gravel after the tank has been running for 24 hours. Is this necessary?

Thanks in advance for any and all guidance you all can give me. I really appreciate it.

Welcome to AA prime! You can set up the tank with everything but fish right away. I suggest a sand substrate, it looks sharp and is very easy to take care of. What kind of hob do you have? Your stock plan to start sounds good, but you will probably want to look into fishless cycling. There is a great article in the articles section of AA, check it out. Read that and let us know if when you have more questions.