Umm Not Sure What To Do??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AquaKitty

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok so i'm kinda new to keeping fish.
I had an aquarium before and all my fish did really great( i didn't even do much to it i just put water in, a filter and fish) but that was when i lived in the country and we had well water. Now i'm in the city and have tap water.
anyway i decided to get a Betta (since their pretty easy)i set the aquarium up and put in the the betta water conditioner. the lady at the store said that was all that i needed. But i've also got some live plants ( not real sure what they are though) and again the lady at the store told me that they'd do fine.
well so far i've lost two betta's and have no idea why?
Now I'm on my third and scare that i'll lose him too!
I changed part of the water a day before i put him in and so far hes doing fine.
But i would like some advise as how to maintain the tank and what to do??
i've attached some pics of my tank
I'd also like to know how to care for the plant and how to tell if they are healthy? i'm just not sure what to do? (i never knew fish were so hard:(

Attachments

• fish tank 001.jpg
    fish tank 001.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 54
  • fish tank 002.jpg
    fish tank 002.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 57
can you take your water in to be tested at the store (if you don't have a test kit at home)? Bettas are pretty hardy and even with a small uncycled tank they usually do okay.

Do you use city or well water?

How long did you have the first two bettas before they died?

Kind of gross, but how long were they in the tank before you found them?

Any strange behavior before dieing other than being lethargic? Bloating?

are you using dechlorinator/water conditioner? what kind of filter do you have?

i got a small test kit and it say that everything is fine now