Im not sure what to do about my ammonia and nitrite?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

faysalals1

Aquarium Advice Regular
This is my first time getting a fish pet, so I did not know I had to test the water to make sure everything is good. When I tested, Ammonia and Nitrite were high, so I used Seachem Prime & Stability, and did a full water change. Its been 4 weeks and no progress yet! Every time I test it gives me different result that doesnt make sense. I tried everything but its not working! my fish now has fin rot and im treating it.

The weird thing is I bought a new tank with new fish, and the test shows everything is perfect!

Any advice because im not sure what to do anymore, I dont want my fish to suffer, and im tired of trying to figure it out.

This is my first time getting a fish pet, so I did not know I had to test the water to make sure everything is good. When I tested, Ammonia and Nitrite were high, so I used Seachem Prime & Stability, and did a full water change. Its been 4 weeks and no progress yet! Every time I test it gives me different result that doesnt make sense. I tried everything but its not working! my fish now has fin rot and im treating it.

The weird thing is I bought a new tank with new fish, and the test shows everything is perfect!

Any advice because im not sure what to do anymore, I dont want my fish to suffer, and im tired of trying to figure it out.

The whole process is actually easy and pretty straight forward.
So let's start with:
Do you understand the cycling process?

Please post the test results you say don't make sense.

Have you also tested your source water for ammonia/ chloramine and nitrate?

PRIME only lasts 24-48 hours so if you have an ammonia or nitrite reading, water changes are your best options.

(y)