Unusual nitrite reading during fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

light_angel_7

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been doing a fishless cycle in my 10 gallon for the last 2-3 months. I've been doing a 50% - 70% water change every day to lower the nitrite and nitrate level to safer levels.

A few days ago when I tested the water I noticed that the nitrites disappeared and I had nitrates at around 80 ppm. I did a water change and added ammonia to the aquarium and when I retested 2-3 hours later it was showing that my nitrites returned at 2pm.

I tested the water again the next 3 days afterward and no nitrites were present until I changed the water and added ammonia. The nitrites and nitrates were lowering down with each water change.

Today I tested the nitrites after the water change and adding ammonia and my nitrites jump back to 2pm (It was .25ppm yesterday) and my nitrates are around 10-20ppm.

I tested my tap water for nitrites and it's reading 0ppm.

Is this supposed to be normal because right now i'm confused:huh:?

Why are you doing a wster change on a fishless cycle? All you should do is add ammo when needed

After 2-3 months the tank should be cycled or at least very very close. Only test every 24 hrs & see what you get. If you dose the ammonia to 2-3 wait 24 hrs then test everything. If you are getting 0 ammonia/nitrite, <20 nitrates you're cycled. If your nitrates are still around 80 you may need to do water changes 2-3 times to get them down.

3 months with 70% daily water changes? Sounds like complete torture.

Opps I meant to say I was doing a water change every day this week to get the nitrite and nitrate down to a safer level.

I tested my nitrites again and it's down to 0ppm again. I don't have a clue why the nitrites are disappearing and reappearing.