White fluffing like appers in tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

masai_chadi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to Aquarium. Two weeks ago, I purchased a 20g Fresh Water Aquarium and set it up. One week later, I added 6 starter fishes - 3 Black Skirt and 3 Neons. I have been following adding Aqua-Cycle, Waste Control as New Setup instructions.

Two days ago, there is lot of white fluffy (cotton wool-like) stuff started appearing. Mostly on ornaments, plants and gravel.

Fishes appear to be healthy and eating well.

Any idea what is this stuff, and how I can remove or control it?

Thanks.

It may be bacteria bloom, dealing with the bioload as it sounds like the tank wasn't cycled before you added fish. Although bacteria bloom normally looks less like strings of fabric and more like a film of cloudy white.

If it's on the fish, I would worry that it's fungus, but you said it's on ornaments.

Are you positive on the color? Fuzziness on decor and plants could be this. Check out that site and see if anything looks familiar.

Thank you, theotheragentm.

I am sure that the colour is white and is fluffy. This evening it was more in the tank - carpeted over ornaments, plants, gravel and on glass.

This sort of worried me so I went to couple of local pet shop. They adviced me that it would be fungus and that I should replace atleast 50% of the water and clean plants lightly with finger (within aquarium water) and scrub the ornaments.

They also advised that I may be putting too much food and that food is being left uneaten; thereby generating fungus. I have been feeding twice a day about a pinch of flake-food at a time. They suggested that I feed a small pinch once a day.

So, I cleaned up the ornaments and plants, replaced 50% water. I hope that I have done the right thing. Also, added Waste Control solution.