Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-02-2011, 12:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
yes i re started the tank but did add special blend to the tank. Not sure what happened to the tank in the beginning i figured it got contaminated some how when i did the water change. but after re starting the whole tank all new items were put in but the live rock. after 2 weeks the fish died in 24 hours. How do I clean the live rock? i dont want to get rid of it. There has to be something in it to re contaminate the tank????
__________________

__________________
luv4tigger25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:00 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
No test kits are only 5 months old. So let live rock sit out for about a week then i can re add to the tank? should i re start the tank again?
__________________

__________________
luv4tigger25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
You restarted the tank? Oh ok... Truthfully I don't believe any bottles of 'bacteria' actually help. The only thing that could help is something like filter media, old substrate, etc. I don't believe your cycle completed. Were you testing throughout the cycle? If so, did you see a nitrite spike and a nitrate spike?
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv4tigger25 View Post
No test kits are only 5 months old. So let live rock sit out for about a week then i can re add to the tank? should i re start the tank again?
If you are restarting the tank then I wouldn't worry about the live rock unless the fish died off from some disease. If you are still worried, then you can always leave it out to dry out.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
no i know the cycle was not complete. I did watch the levels and the nitrites and nitrates had started coming down. Ammonia was o. I tested daily to watch the levels. The levels were all safe to add the one fish and he died that night. I have used the special blend and it cuts the cycle time in half i have tested a fish less cycle vs a fish cycle with and w/o the special blend and it does work. I dont believe that thats what killed the fish. Right now all levels are basically 0. Fully cycled. But if i add a fish it will die??? I have 3 55 g 4 30 g and a 20 high all up and running with saltwater fish with no issues. this is first time this has happened.. Hense the forum ???'s I was just not sure if the contamination can stay in the live rock or not?
__________________
luv4tigger25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
I will be re starting the tank again with out the live rock and see what happens. Thanks so much.
__________________
luv4tigger25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
I've bought out of date test kits.... i wouldnt but if u do deside to.. don't use that cycle boost crap just to it the old way.. using a raw piece of shrimp to start ammonia
__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:17 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv4tigger25
no i know the cycle was not complete. I did watch the levels and the nitrites and nitrates had started coming down. Ammonia was o. I tested daily to watch the levels. The levels were all safe to add the one fish and he died that night. I have used the special blend and it cuts the cycle time in half i have tested a fish less cycle vs a fish cycle with and w/o the special blend and it does work. I dont believe that thats what killed the fish. Right now all levels are basically 0. Fully cycled. But if i add a fish it will die??? I have 3 55 g 4 30 g and a 20 high all up and running with saltwater fish with no issues. this is first time this has happened.. Hense the forum ???'s I was just not sure if the contamination can stay in the live rock or not?
I don't think its contaminated... it would have contaminted your other tanks as well.. try taking rock out and dry it out.. put it back in.... since your levels are good now.. buy a cheap fresh water fish like a molly drip it with ur salt water throw him in see what gappens
__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:18 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv4tigger25
no i know the cycle was not complete. I did watch the levels and the nitrites and nitrates had started coming down. Ammonia was o. I tested daily to watch the levels. The levels were all safe to add the one fish and he died that night. I have used the special blend and it cuts the cycle time in half i have tested a fish less cycle vs a fish cycle with and w/o the special blend and it does work. I dont believe that thats what killed the fish. Right now all levels are basically 0. Fully cycled. But if i add a fish it will die??? I have 3 55 g 4 30 g and a 20 high all up and running with saltwater fish with no issues. this is first time this has happened.. Hense the forum ???'s I was just not sure if the contamination can stay in the live rock or not?
I don't think its contaminated... it would have contaminted your other tanks as well.. try taking rock out and dry it out.. put it back in.... since your levels are good now.. buy a cheap fresh water fish like a molly drip it with ur salt water throw him in see what happens
__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:40 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
How would it contaminate my other tanks???
__________________

__________________
luv4tigger25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, die, died, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select fish dieing with water change?? Alison.P Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 11-14-2009 06:22 PM
Water Change in Non Fish Tanks theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-13-2007 10:13 PM
Ever sucked a fish up while doing a water change? blazeyreef Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 01-29-2007 07:08 PM
PH change... clearer water/Better fish behavior!? Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-31-2006 07:35 PM
4 Fish DIED during water change SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 07-11-2006 12:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.