Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2004, 12:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 591
Send a message via Yahoo to Fishboy-from-NY
PLEASE HELP-CUPRAMINE

I would like to know how long should I keep cupramine in my tank for in order to kill off all parasites. I have tried it for several times and the longest it was done for was 7 weeks. Please let me know since I just keep getting this now for the last 3 month's. my water parameters are all good and I have a filtration system that people will kill for. please let me know, if anyone can help.
__________________

__________________
Fishboy-from-NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 02:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 591
Send a message via Yahoo to Fishboy-from-NY
Please help, my fish are breathing rapidly
__________________

__________________
Fishboy-from-NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 02:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i would do a water change if they are stressed
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 02:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose California USA
Posts: 333
Send a message via MSN to pufferman
if you want to convert to a reef later in the same tank you want to medicate, DO NOT USE CUPRAMINE. Try to get a QT to use as a hospital where you can medicate all you want. Before you get the QT, do a 20-30 percent water change. Check all parameters and make sure the water is okay. if your fish are scratching or have white spots on them, do a FW dip for five minutes. Actually do it anyways just in case.

HTH

P-MAN
__________________
30 gallon SW tank;EHEIM ECCO 2235 Canister Filter w/Miracle-Working Chemi-Pure
TetraTec UV1 UV Sterilizer;Rio 50 Powerhead ;130w PC lighting;33 Lbs. of Tonga Branch LR;Nature's Ocean Live Sand (the bagged stuff)
Livestock:2-Ocellaris Clownfish;9-Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs;1-Regal Tang;Zoanthids, Pineapple Brain coral, Sebae Anemone, Colt Coral, Galaxea
Tank Specs as of December 29, 2005:Ammonia:0;Nitrite: 0;Nitrate=0;Cu:0
PH: 8.3
SG: 1.028;Temp: 79-84 degrees F (Adjusts throughout the day)
pufferman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 02:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose California USA
Posts: 333
Send a message via MSN to pufferman
oh yeah,

if you dont want to go reef, go on and medicate the main tank, as long as there arent any inverts.

P-MAN
__________________
30 gallon SW tank;EHEIM ECCO 2235 Canister Filter w/Miracle-Working Chemi-Pure
TetraTec UV1 UV Sterilizer;Rio 50 Powerhead ;130w PC lighting;33 Lbs. of Tonga Branch LR;Nature's Ocean Live Sand (the bagged stuff)
Livestock:2-Ocellaris Clownfish;9-Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs;1-Regal Tang;Zoanthids, Pineapple Brain coral, Sebae Anemone, Colt Coral, Galaxea
Tank Specs as of December 29, 2005:Ammonia:0;Nitrite: 0;Nitrate=0;Cu:0
PH: 8.3
SG: 1.028;Temp: 79-84 degrees F (Adjusts throughout the day)
pufferman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 03:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
if you want to convert to a reef later in the same tank you want to medicate

so not true !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose California USA
Posts: 333
Send a message via MSN to pufferman
sorry a typo

i meant to say that if you want to go reef later in the same do not medicate

sorry!!

P-MAN
__________________
30 gallon SW tank;EHEIM ECCO 2235 Canister Filter w/Miracle-Working Chemi-Pure
TetraTec UV1 UV Sterilizer;Rio 50 Powerhead ;130w PC lighting;33 Lbs. of Tonga Branch LR;Nature's Ocean Live Sand (the bagged stuff)
Livestock:2-Ocellaris Clownfish;9-Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs;1-Regal Tang;Zoanthids, Pineapple Brain coral, Sebae Anemone, Colt Coral, Galaxea
Tank Specs as of December 29, 2005:Ammonia:0;Nitrite: 0;Nitrate=0;Cu:0
PH: 8.3
SG: 1.028;Temp: 79-84 degrees F (Adjusts throughout the day)
pufferman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
still disagree ! because this comes up soooo much i think im gonna run a test on a spare 10 gallon ! i will dose with copper and leave it in for 2 weeks ! then do a water change and add some ls and snails !! will take pics as well
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:10 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 348
Send a message via MSN to Nitrate
IME given enough time cupramine will go away. I think it mostly depends on what is in the tank that can absord and hold the copper.

I treated twice with cupramine and later added inverts without changing the substrate or rocks. I dont know that doing so was wise, but it worked for me.
__________________
Nitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i will do that cause both my tanks have worms pods like crazy and both have had copper in them many times ! one tank i mixed sand and cc (which was dosed ) and worms are better with the cc than the other :-/
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Everyone with Cupramine Experience solidsnakejv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-04-2009 07:56 PM
How to use Cupramine? leesanhua Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-05-2005 02:31 AM
Hypo or Cupramine? HELP! fishman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 01-28-2005 11:44 AM
I used Cupramine... rthoman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-23-2004 08:34 PM
QT tanks and Cupramine ercfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-13-2003 05:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.