Zoanthid sick?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joshsmit56001

Aquarium Advice Freak
I recently bought a zoanthid rock from my LFS and it is opening fine and everything but I can see one of the polyps has some sort of green thing on top of it and it looks like that polyp is dying. It is not hair algae at all, it is almost like it is the fringe of the zoanthid. It is very bright green. Also there is another spot that has been there since I got it that looks like a different kind of button polyp, it has a very bright green fringe. I am wondering what this might be and if it is bad for my tank. Also on one of my zoanthids polyps there is some brown mucus type stuff on it, what is this? Please help me, I am pretty new to corals.

TIA,
Josh

but I can see one of the polyps has some sort of green thing on top of it and it looks like that polyp is dying.

There is a nudibranch that preys on zos (I don't know if it's green, but most predatory nudis will appear almost like the coral they are chewing on), use a pair of tweezers and try to remove green thing.

Also there is another spot that has been there since I got it that looks like a different kind of button polyp

Could be, they are related and like the same conditions, entirely plausible to find them together. Can we get a pic?

Also on one of my zoanthids polyps there is some brown mucus type stuff on it, what is this?

This sounds like a bacterial infection, you can siphon off the mucus with a small diameter hose and dose the tank with vitamin C.

This post may help. Sick zoos what do I do?

I took some of the stuff off of the zoos and it looks like a plant of some sorts. Kind of like caulerpa. I have caulerpa in my refugium, can that be the cause of it?