Guppies keep dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bbrandonnm

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 360 degree tank with a undergravel filter and a bubble stone going through the middle. I just bought a heater for my tank the smallest heater they had like a 50w its preset to 76 so the water temp is always between 72-76 degrees. And I have a few plants in my tank. I use api tap water conditioner. It's 2-3 drops per gallon. I cycled my fish tank for a week after that I brought the water to the pet store to test the water they said it was perfect. So I bought some guppies and after an hour they died I didn't know why so I cleaned my tank all out again and started over this time my mom gave me four guppies from her fish tank that has been alive and well for years brought them home and within the next day they died I don't know what's going on :/ can some one please help it's really making me bummed out ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1431314639.022703.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

It sounds like maybe the tank is not cycled. I would purchase an API liquid test and a bottle of Prime. Use Prime instead of the API conditioner you have. Also useful is the Seachem ammonia alert.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

I cycled my tank for a week before my mom gave me some fish and what does the prime do?

I cycled my tank for a week before my mom gave me some fish and what does the prime do?

How did you cycle it? A tank does not cycle in 1 week, unless you used a seeded filter media from another tank. Is that how you did it? What were the water parameters when it was tested at the store? Prime is a water conditioner that also detoxifies ammonia and, I believe, also nitrites. Both of those may kill your guppies in high levels.