My Lima shovelnose catfish acting odd

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MetalHeadX343

Aquarium Advice Regular
I need to know why my catfish is so upset. I'm new to monster fish I normally own small tropical fish that require low maintenance. I have only owned him for about a week now so I don't know how they normally act. I just purchased 20 small goldfish for him to eat today. I'm trying to ween him off live fish but he won't touch anything I throw in there yet. I tested my water for everything imaginable and the only thing that was off was the ammonia level. The ammonia level was between stress and harmful. As far as I am aware goldfish admit a high level of ammonia. He hasn't tried to eat any of them yet, however he has investigated them and has had them right in front on his mouth. The reason why I believe he's acting odd is because he's swimming up and down very fast in the back of the tank like he's trying to escape and not doing his hunting position like normal. I recently discovered that my air pump wasn't working. The output that my tubes were on were clogged I switched them so now my air stone works (I did this about 30 min ago). Does anybody have any advice on weening him away from live fish and/or what the problem might be... Please help

Welcome to the site.

First based on your desription of ammonia levels that would certainly explain his behavior followed by the fact he's a new addition and the combination of stress from poor water conditions and moving is very hard on the fish.

First things first what are the actual water parameters, what size is the tank/filtration, and what other tankmates besides the filthy gold fish? Answer these questions to start before any further help can be offered.

Last edited:
Thanks for helping