Neon Tetra Disease?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishyLuva

Aquarium Advice Activist
My friend has a sick danio and asked a person what the problem is. they said its probaly neon tetra disease. Is there a cure for neon tetra disease and if so please tell.Also I would like to know what caused it any ideas please?

Moved to the unhealthy fish forum. What are the symptoms? What are the parameters? First it would be good to determine if it is indeed NTD.

First of all I dont own her fish so I dont hav to much info but I guess i hav some. Well today i went to her house and she fed it and the danio doesnt seem to eat. Also it looked like it had a hunched back when the others are fairly strait. Also im not a fish expert so wat does parameters mean?

My friend has a sick danio and asked a person what the problem is. they said its probaly neon tetra disease. Is there a cure for neon tetra disease and if so please tell.Also I would like to know what caused it any ideas please?

A sick danio does not = neon tetra disease. Neon tetra disease is a parasite that has been known to infect other fish besides neons but diagnosing it in a danio would take a microscopic look at tissue after the fish dies. It is caused by an insidious little creature called Pleistophora.

There are so many other diseases and problems that may be affecting the danio that I would put Pleistophora very low on the possibilities.

For anyone's benefit and interest I wrote this on neon disease a while back in a different forum and I will reprint it here.

Hi.

I wanted to tell you a little bit about neon tetra disease.