PLEASE HELP! Neon tetras sick? Dwarf frog died! New at aquariums!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sings4life

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new at aquariums. My mom has been helping me because we had a 10 gallon when I was little. I bought a 1.5 Gallon tank. I set it up 10 days ago and ran the filter for 3 days before I bought fish. This past tuesday, I bought 3 neon tetras and 2 danios (zebra fish) and a dwarf frog. Last night, around 6pm, my neon tetras looked like they lost their color. I turned the light on for awhile and their color returned, but my frog started acting funny. I had the dwarf frogs previously for a long time and I knew this was not normal behavior for them. He was swimming up and down in the tank and then around on the top of the tank. Then when I checked on him at 12am, he was dead at the bottom of the tank. Today I came home at 6pm and found two of my neon tetras, who had seperated themselves from the other tetra and danios, have a white cloud like substance around their bodies. One wont swim anymore and is gasping on the bottom of the tank and the other one is barely swimming. I read on another site that it sounds like neon tetra disease? And it suggested removing them from the tank so I have them in a cup and i'm going to take them back to the store tomorrow and see what they can tell me about what is wrong with them and get some water test strips. I also think i'm going to switch from pellets to flakes. They dont seem to be eating the pellets, they are just laying on the bottom of the tank. I'm really worried and this is my first time with my own tank. PLEASE HELP THIS NEWBIE!!!!! :(

Hi! First, welcome to Aquarium Advice. There are lots of really helpful people here who will give you a lot of advice. Second, I am sorry for your loss. It is sad to lose a pet, even such a new one.