Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2014, 04:20 PM   #261
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
That's what I'm thinking man! Swim lessons in the pool not the living room! That would be my main concern.. Failure=flood. I'll be at Home Depot this weekend, I'll look around, I'll draw up something on an envelope when I get home, get the creative juices flowing!
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:44 PM   #262
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
The float switch would be to turn the pump off once the buckets got too full right?
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:46 PM   #263
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
There'd be water in the sump tank? The float would be in the sump tank so if the level got to high or low it would kill the power to pump.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:02 PM   #264
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Makes sense so I would need a dual control float switch then
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:05 PM   #265
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
Makes sense so I would need a dual control float switch then
not necessarily, I'm thinking a basic float with small cables/strong fishing line to a simple side by side wall switch, the switched will have to be wired so when both in the on position pump runs, if either one goes to off position, pump off. I think it's simple enough it should really do the job while not requiring extensive electrical experience or a lot if $$
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:09 PM   #266
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
I was looking at the piggyback float switches but they are only a single position
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:14 PM   #267
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
You'd need two? If my idea works it's like $20..
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:28 PM   #268
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Yeah I would need 2. I'll wait for your idea! I have a few weeks anyways so why not!
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:46 PM   #269
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
So the float would have 2 lines attached, through circle or eye hooks it would create a sort of puller system to switch, if float pulls line.. Line pulls switch. Easy.. The float would be a cylindrical piece of foam in a PVC tube.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-755806180.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	227074



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-842440472.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	118.4 KB
ID:	227071
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 06:43 PM   #270
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Not sure I understand that bro, I was thinking a mechanical float switch. Not sure I like the idea of an electric one siting in there leaking electric to fluffy!
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect vertical 2x4 on horizontal 2x4 ? plecoking DIY Projects 16 05-26-2011 10:47 AM
Multi tier stand - 2x4 strength? Greeny DIY Projects 9 11-16-2009 10:17 AM
75/90 Gallon Stand 1x4 pine construction(no 2x4). snorkel DIY Projects 25 09-21-2009 02:41 PM
2X4 or 4X4 for 55 gal stand?? crazyderik DIY Projects 9 01-07-2008 10:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.