DIY Sump/Fuge

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Salt4Us

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Attached is a pic of a Sump/Fuge I'm trying to make, my questions are:

how does it look?

Is the spacing ok?

Ok, looking at the picture, inlet on the right of the pic and outlet on the left of the pic.

This is the first time I'm doing this, so all help is much appreciated!

Thanks! Oh, and the wood won't be in there, haven't glued yet.

if the inlet is on the right side , i'm not positive, but i don't think you really need the tall devider, but i'm sure that if i'm wrong someone will correct me, looks good tho

Im no expert but I agree with wingsfan that tall divider might be a little high, other then that it looks great. Nice job. Are you going to be able to get the 2x4 out :mrgreen:

Could you tell us what the 3 or 4 chambers will be used for?

Also is that plexiglass or acrylic that your trying to bond to glass?

Assuming that the water will enter from the right, it should work OK. The first baffle is high, but it won't hurt anything. Might make it a little hard to clean though. Depending on how much flow you're going to have, you may have some trouble with micro bubbles. Adding another baffle would help with that if it proves to be a problem. Guessing the skimmer will be in the center and the return pump in the far left?
If you're using acrylic, plexiglass, lexan, ect..., you will find that silicone doesn't stick to it very well. You may be able to keep the partitions in place by siliconing both sides. You'll be relying on the silicone to stick to the glass and hold the acrylic in place...should work OK, but I wouldn't count on it being watertight.