Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-25-2003, 11:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
LoA bulbs with mogul base... need help powering!

Hey everyone! Well I bought these compact flo's by Lights of America that are mogul based and are 65 watt. They are pretty cool but have one shoddy thing I ran into trouble with. I took out the "ballast" which seems to be built in and also has the mogulbase right by it, and I housed it in a wooden box, then screwed it to my newly made canopy Pic 1. This set up worked all of last night but then in the morning to test it before I left... I plugged it in and it super blew up. I think the bulb is fine but the "ballast is done.. I tried my other 4 bulbs that I bought as extra (well I bought two set ups so two are extra for only 12 bucks a pop!). They didn't work. I was wondering if it was even remotely possible to powere these bulbs in anopther way.. like possibly getting a Real ballast (that could power one or maybe even two bulbs) and also getting mogul base(s) and rewire it to the canopy.. and just have the base(s) in the tank, keeping the ballast away from the water. Thank you so much for reading everyone! Also while I am at it you get to see pics of my canopy and light when it was working!!!!
__________________

__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 11:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
Oh yeah I just read the other post from a while ago! So I can supposedly use a ballast and mogul sockets.. but a) did the set up with the ballast and mogul sockets work or did it go kaboom just like mine did? b) if it did work what ballast should I buy for a single and a dual bulb set up? (want to keep options open)? and how much was it to get the ballast and socket?

Thanks for looking again everyone
__________________

__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 12:25 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
If I were to try this, and I have thought about it, I would try the Sylvania Quicktronic ballasts from Lowes. I'm using them on several regular PC setups and they work great. I imagine the 2x59w would do a fine job on a pair of the LOA bulbs.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 12:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
lets see pictures of the ballast

also, try to get the mogul base of the bulb open, so I can see if there are electronics on there.

I would NOT hook a regular ballast up to the bulb without knowing what is inside the base first.
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 01:03 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Good point.
I know very little about electronics. My method would probably be to wire it up in the front yard, get behind a tree, and throw the juice to it 8O . Probably not the best idea though.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 03:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
poo the "ballast" is that pic where the socket is... behind it.. basically a circuit board... and I am home from college so I am not sure about the socket..

Does anyone have this set up so they can look for me ??? thanks would mean a lot - Also how much would the ballast be if it is suitable for the situation?... do they even make a ballast for a single bulb?? Thanks
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 04:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
well I sarted looking around.. what do you think of the electronic ballast by Fulham? Seems like the workhorse 3 or 4 would do the job... that is if this idea works.. so yeah anyone who has the 65 watt LoA set up please look into your socket and at the ballast and tell us what you see thanks!
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 11:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
I took pics of the socket and "ballast"! Tell what you think.. is it possible top get a fulham workhorse (which would you suggest if it is possible?) ballast and sockets and do it that way instead of using these (whats in the pics)..?
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 12:32 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
ok, that circuit looks like a typical step-up inverter ... ac power is converted to DC, and then back into high frequency high voltage AC.

the $1000 question is - what's inside the base end of the bulb?

the quicktronic ballast logan mentioned would be your best bet for driving the bulb assuming it's able to be driven in that manner, but to err on the side of caution, you really should try to open the bottom of the bulb up and see what's inside.

-----


a fulham workhorse, or any other commerical / industrial ballast can not be disassembled. the ballast electronics and transformer(s) are mounted on a circuit board and then packed in a asphalt / tar mixture before being sealed into their little metal box. this keeps water out and helps dissipate heat, but it also means no tinkering or fixing.
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 04:35 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
what do you mean what is in the base of the bulb? I have the bulb here with me...
__________________

__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, bulb, bulbs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HQI vs Mogul runway1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-31-2007 02:27 PM
Powering night lights on pennies Skyrmir DIY Projects 4 02-09-2006 08:47 PM
LOA 65 Watt Mod. bckane General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-19-2005 12:42 PM
Mogul style bulbs. easyian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-09-2005 10:17 PM
Powering two 92mm's with one ac/dc adapter possible? Electrobes DIY Projects 4 01-14-2004 10:59 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.