Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2011, 10:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Posts: 13
zeolite

Question I have is I have found that while my main tank cycles i was looking at zeolite for my smaller holding tank. The question I have is most of what I have found shows to be used in a canister filter. How would I use this product in a 10 gallon tank without having to get a filter that would plaster the fish up against the wall. I love to see my fish swim and would hate to see them look like they were a wall decoration on the inside of my tank from too powerful of a filter!

Can you just place a bag of it in the bottom or does it need water flow to work?
__________________

__________________
Scuba Diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Just run your filter from your holding tank on your main tank until you need it, then move it over to the holding tank... that way, you don't have to worry about ammonia, as the tank will be essentially cycled. I'd much rather do water changes than rely on a chemical to remove ammonia, but that's just me. If you have made your mind up on using it, you can put some in a mesh bag of some sort and put it in your filter.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
Just run your filter from your holding tank on your main tank until you need it, then move it over to the holding tank... that way, you don't have to worry about ammonia, as the tank will be essentially cycled. I'd much rather do water changes than rely on a chemical to remove ammonia, but that's just me. If you have made your mind up on using it, you can put some in a mesh bag of some sort and put it in your filter.
+1 Your bacteria in the filtration will take care of the cycling issue. I, too, try not to use any more chemicals than I absolutely have to.
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zeolite in saltwater tanks carey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-21-2011 10:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.