Most Rewarding Part of Owning an Aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

beginneraquarist

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

So I want to know, what has been the most rewarding part of fish keeping for you?

What part could you do without?

I'm a beginner. Just curious what makes it worth it for you guys.

My platys letting me pet them

Unwanted mouthfuls of tank water during water changes and disease

definitely the buying new fish and seeing them thrive in your aqaurim , i have just purchased 3 small angelfish and 4 cardinal tetra's and they are loving it
:D

Never having to say there's nothing to watch when you have 300 channels of CRAP on TV. Being able to care for "difficult" species of fish with some success.

Part I could do without - high prices of everything good for your aquarium!

The great feeling, when you know that all your hard work has paid off :D

My daughter commented the other day that i'm always looking at the fish. I love watching them! Especially my Mollies and my beta and I think they like watching us too. I noticed one day after messing around on the floor with my daughter and dog that they were at the front off the tank just watching :)

The worst is probably the water changes, altho I really don't mind that either

For me the best part is just getting to watch the fish and knowing that I have created my own little ecosystem for them to live in. The aquascaping is fun, too. The worst part is dealing with diseases and occasionally having to watch your fish die. Oh, and the cost. When you are a broke college student, it's hard balancing the desire to upgrade everything with the desire to eat sometimes...

Most rewarding is when people come in and see my tank and their mouths drop. Lol

What I could do without... Water changes. Lol

Chronos313 said:
My platys letting me pet them