Aqua Medic 1000 Co2 reactor ????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MalawiMadness

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone can help me get this Co2 reactor working properly. I have it installed vertical inline with my wet/dry filter pump. I'm using a Rio 1900 for my return pump. The problem is Co2 isn't leaving the reactor. Do I have an undersized pump issue or some other issue? I have a pressurized Co2 setup hooked into a Ph controller. I'm new to Co2 injection and any help would be aprreciated.

Thanks,
Larry

Can you provide some specifics?

What size is the hose on the suction side of the filter, the one that the reactor is in? What size id the hose leaving the pump?

What comes to mind is that if you are moving water too slowly through the reactor, like you would in a bigger tube, there may not be enough velocity to grab the co2 and shove it downward through the reactor. Can you place the reactor in the suction line for the pump?

Larry,

I've got this reactor as well. When you say CO2 isn't leaving the reactor, do you mean that a pocket of CO2 is building up inside the reactor? I've had this happen before and the fine folks at AquaMedic have actually built in a bleed valve on the reactor to release any gas build-ups. This has always worked for me. Here's a picture of where the bleed valve on mine is located (boxed in white):

CO2_Assembly_04_Bleed_Valve.jpg

If you haven't already tried this, it may work for you. Hope this helps and let us know if you're still having problems. I can always use mine to try to duplicate your issue :)

Hello,