CO2 advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EmilyC

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to planted tanks and need some advice on setting up CO2. I already have a tank (from beer making!) but need to get a regulator and bubble counter. Any recommendations on a go starter setup? Also, once I'm set up, how do I determine the correct flow?

Check out Aquatec of California on E-Bay. The have fair prices on Regs.
As far as flow goes, you would need a drop checker to tell roughly how much co2 concentration is in the water. You just need to watch the drop checker until you get the right color. It will take a bit to get the co2 adjusted. About any bubble counter will work. Just some are a little better quality.

I think there are people who have Milwaukee and those (like me) that have Aquatek who like them equally. I would compare them to like a Chevy versus a Ford truck, there's people who will swear by them on either side of the fence.

I personally like Aquatek because they give you a little extra with the purchase... like some airline tubing and bubble counter.
New Basic Aquatek CO2 Regulator with Integrated Cool Touch Solenoid | eBay

The bubble counter it comes with is inline and will work fine. However, you can upgrade it to this if you'd like:
Aquatek CO2 Brass Bubble Counter with Integrated Check Valve | eBay

I think there are people who have Milwaukee and those (like me) that have Aquatek who like them equally. I would compare them to like a Chevy versus a Ford truck, there's people who will swear by them on either side of the fence.

I personally like Aquatek because they give you a little extra with the purchase... like some airline tubing and bubble counter.
New Basic Aquatek CO2 Regulator with Integrated Cool Touch Solenoid | eBay