how hard can it be?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lt.

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So im a beginner with planted tanks, i plan on getting a 55gal. tank in the next couple weeks. And i have been thinking about putting real plants in and trying to aquascape it for a natural look. But im not sure what plants are hardier, and less sensitive to conditions. Not that i wont take good care, but what if im gone for two weeks or more and nothing happens to the tank beside feeding fish.
Also, when can i add plants, what substrate do they need, (would just some pool filter sand be ok, or what else should i have)how much light do they need, and anything else useful to know?

Sand is fine, I would put some root tabs in under and plants so they get some extra nutrients, I would do crypts or Anubis , hornwort, java gets prof you want moss go with jaa misspelled xmas moss.
Plants help a tank so getting them never is a bad idea

Lt. said:
So im a beginner with planted tanks, i plan on getting a 55gal. tank in the next couple weeks. And i have been thinking about putting real plants in and trying to aquascape it for a natural look. But im not sure what plants are hardier, and less sensitive to conditions. Not that i wont take good care, but what if im gone for two weeks or more and nothing happens to the tank beside feeding fish.
Also, when can i add plants, what substrate do they need, (would just some pool filter sand be ok, or what else should i have)how much light do they need, and anything else useful to know?

Oh forgot to say you can add plants whenever. I always add tem in the cycle cause I do fish in cycles and it helps boost the cycle and gives place for fish to hide

Last edited by a moderator: