Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-15-2012, 05:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Lights, CO2 and fertiliser advice

Hi all. I'm currently new to plants but I'm planning on eventually having my aquarium heavily planted. I have a juwel rio 180 litre aquarium (101 x 41 x 50cm) Which is lightly planted with some vallis, water sprite, juncus repens and 3 other plants I'm unsure of the name of. The lights I currently have are juwel high lite day and nature, info on them is here:
http://www.seapets.co.uk/products/aq...m-24-watt.html

I have the 45watt ones.
So my questions are: are my lights good enough or will I need to replace them? If so suggestions on bulbs?
I believe for a heavily planted tank I'd need to dose fertiliser and CO2 but I have no idea where to start with this. I've read numerous posts on ferts and CO2 but it's all turned my brain to mush so I need help please what kind of things should i be looking for in a CO2 system and fertiliser? what's a good CO2 system and fertiliser to use? Any help will be greatly appreciated

Old 05-15-2012, 07:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rach88
Hi all. I'm currently new to plants but I'm planning on eventually having my aquarium heavily planted. I have a juwel rio 180 litre aquarium (101 x 41 x 50cm) Which is lightly planted with some vallis, water sprite, juncus repens and 3 other plants I'm unsure of the name of. The lights I currently have are juwel high lite day and nature, info on them is here:

I have the 45watt ones.
So my questions are: are my lights good enough or will I need to replace them? If so suggestions on bulbs?