Need lighting help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ImACoolguy

Aquarium Advice Addict
Okay so I'm still a newbie when it comes to lighting. I've gotten my first planted tank set up just yesterday with a 36 inch LED. The tank is 75 gallons and the light came with the tank. I have some low light plants (swords, wisteria, etc). I'm unsure as to light I need for the tank. I heard rule of thumb for low light is 2wpg. The tank is in my living room so a hanging light is out of the question(still in parents house).

1. I want a good quality light that isn't too pricy (under $200 please if possible).

2. I heard no more than 8 hours a day of light?

3. Will I get an explosion of algae?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Your Tank

Hello Im...

The light you have is very likely plenty for low light plants. You don't need to add anything. Ideally, you want a 48 inch light strip, but I would make do until you know for sure you're going to like the hobby. Just plant the plants directly under the light and change half the tank water weekly. The plants will look poorly at first, that's normal until they get used to your tank's water conditions.

If you like, you can add a liquid like Seachem's Comprehensive. Just dose according to the instructions when you change the tank water.

Pretty easy.

B

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1421363903.759093.jpg
This is a current state of my tank. Is that enough light? That's wonderful if it is but if it is not I'd love to know what is appropriate.

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1421364430.120639.jpg
Also I noticed this white filament on my wood. Is this safe for fish? A disease?

I would stick with that light for now as you literally have like no plants. Intensity should be more than okay. Focus on getting a lot more low light plants then worry about light.