New 55 gal tank help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Serg

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've set up my tank and started the fish-less cycle amounts ago today, my ammonia level has dropped twice from 4 ppm to 2 ppm and I redose it each time back to 4ppm , there hasn't been any traces of nitrites or nitrates, starting to wonder if something has gone wrong, can anyone give me some advice on what to do? Thanks

I'm new at this as well... The same thing happened to me. I gave it some time and things leveled out. I may have misread but do you not have any fish in your tank yet big so that is why you don't have any nitrate/nitrite levels. I tried to cycle my tank without fish but I was told by the awesome folk on this forum that the cycling can't begin until you have fish.

...technically cycling can be done without live fish, it just can't be done without an ammonia source. Pure ammonia, fish food, and frozen shrimp are other common methods.
When ammonia is present, bacteria convert it into nitrites. Then a second bacteria colony forms and converts nitrites into nitrates. If your ammonia is being processed, nitrites should be present. How long has it been cycling? Maybe they're just too low to register yet?
Definitely right about the time though, this is not a quick process. :)

It's been cycling for a month now, which from what I've read in other forums that's about the time where it start to get going

I'd say if the ammonia is starting to drop, you're on your way and to just give it some more time.
You may want to think about posting this in the freshwater "getting started" forum, you might get someone with more experience to answer there.

Good luck!