Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-14-2012, 07:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Now I am very new to this side but me and the wife are choosing our fish and building our first Sw tank the fish won't come for months yet until I make all the purchases and cycle the tank but here is what we came up with so far compatible or no?

Blue hippo tang
Yellow tang
2 Royal gramma
Pair Clownfish(maroon)
Porcupine puffer
Possibly 2 other interesting goby

Old 02-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

So you must have a 180+ gal tank for all that to fit inside your tank.

Old 02-14-2012, 10:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

You've got a few problems there..... and Terrance is correct about the 180. The Porcupine & Blue Hippo Tang can both reach 1' in length, so they need big tanks.

The Porcupine is generally considered peaceful with other tankmates, but with larger fish.... smaller fish like the clowns, gobies, and even a gramma at 3" can easily become a meal. "Porkies" also need a very specialized diet (read - expensive after a while) to keep their beaks in shape, and are VERY messy eaters...... requires excellent filtration and large, frequent water changes (be prepared to begin ordering bulk salt by freight). Think of these guys as saltwater Oscars.... They're cute & personable, but require some serious long term dedication to your tank.

If your looking at a standard 110 (48"x18"x30"), then the Yellow Tang is out as well.... tank's too short. If it's a 110 long, then you'd be OK.
Old 02-14-2012, 10:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion