I want Coralline algea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Soccerdude

Aquarium Advice Activist
I really want coralline to cover my rocks, but all I have is ugly brown algae. I have about 1.25 watts per gallon over my fowlr. Is this just simply a light problem, because my water quality is good.

If you have any purple on your tank at all it will spread. If you have NO coralline already you will have to introduce some to get it to spread.
The light has marginal impact, I have coralline growing under my rocks with no light really. :)

Don't mean to hijack but curious... How would one "introduce" this algae? And to the OP why do you want it? Is it good for your tank? Forgive me I'm very new to saltwater and have questions every minute.

You introduce it by taking a rock that is already covered I'm coraline and placing it in your tank. Most people including myself want it because it looks good. I helped speed the spreading along by scrapping some off the rocks that were covered every now and then.

The purple is nice at first, but let me tell you, it can take over a tank. I have it plating everywhere and my tank is so purple it's kinda annoying. It detracts from the coral and fish in my opinion.

It's one of those things...if you have it, you don't want it- but it you don't have it, you want it. On my 10 year old 55gal, I had so much coraline, it was like the plague. Constantly scraping it off of everything, everywhere. Now in my 2 year old 125- I'm happy just having it on 50% of my rocks.

Take some scrapings from another reefers tank and sprinkle them in yours. it will start to appear everywhere soon after. Light is certainly not an issue. You can grow coralline algae Under curly-Q energy saver bulbs.

Yeah I scrape a rock that's coated heavily once a week for a month since setting up the tank and it is slowly spreading.