Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-13-2011, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

New Fish for New Aquarium!!

So I finally got my tank up and running and fully cycled, and I have my first round of fish in there. It's a 60 gallon tank with a new and improved wet/dry filter. Right now I have 2 ocerllaris clownfish (I wanted to start slowly, make sure everything was working properly). They're doing fine and all the levels have been right for about 2 weeks now.

I wanted to see if anyone had any advice on which fish or how many to add. Also, when should I add another round. I want to keep it a community tank, so peaceful fish are best. Also, since the tank it relatively newer, and I'm a newb, I should only be looking at fish that are easy to care for.

So here's the big question. Anyone have any fish they've had, or have heard that are perfect for a newer tank? I've seen recommendations for firefish, coral beauties, and a few blennies, but is there anything else (preferably with nice colors) that anyone reccomends?

Old 10-13-2011, 04:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I was in the same boat as you were just a few months ago.We started with 2 clown fish.Then we added a Damsel but they seem kinda aggressive so i'd be careful with that breed of fish.Blue Hippo Tangs do well in the clown fish,Gobies..any peaceful tempered fish should be good.

Old 10-13-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I love wrasses!! Most of them keep to themselves even though it'll say semi-aggressive. Royal grammas, candy hogfish, firefish, and anthias are all good choices too. I'm not sure about tangs in a 60g - it might get alittle stressful in there

30g FOWLR Tank
8g Mantis Shrimp Tank
all4wheels2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:17 PM   #4