what is growing on my live rock?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rickster0620

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new here and using a phone to navigate so please bear with me. I'm also new to saltwater and am probably the least desirable type of new member you get here. I rushed into getting a saltwater tank and figure I'll learn as I go. My live rock is sprouting little clear tube like plants can anyone tell me what they are? And more importantly do I want them?

Welcome to the forum. It's members like you that can benefit the most so when and if you have any questions feel free to ask and post pictures. Are you cycling your tank? Do you have fish? Size of tank, water readings stuff like that can be very useful. :)

I am cycling the tank. This of my first ever attempt at salt water. I am going with a fowlr setup but need more LR. I have a 75 gal tank with two otb filters and a canister to soon be added. Twin bulb t5 light w/ 2 - 28w bulbs (10,000k daylight/actinic-03) and five led night lights. Crushed coral for substrate. 4 pieces of LR probably 15lbs. And started with 5 damsels (because they said I should, "they" being the pet store that I bought my light from). My parameters are currently : specific gravity 1.025, Ph 8.4, kh 300, no-2 .5, no+3 20. Water temp is 78.6

I made the mistake of buying fish to early in cycle process. I was doing water changes everyday to keep fish healthy. All because I didn't know better. Doing a fishless cycle is less costly and fish wont suffer. Keep an eye on your paramaters and be prepared for the water changes when levels spike. Good luck with everything.

Also you are going to need more live rock. Or else your cycle time will take much longer. I believe you will need at least 1 pound per gallon.