Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2011, 02:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
The Jam-is-on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 219
How long has the tank been running? Have you tested your tap water for ammonia?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
55 gallon FW Community | 55 gallon Malawi Mbuna
The Jam-is-on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:19 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 231
My tap water Is 0.25 also but I have been using prime for the fresh water that I'm putting in the tank.
__________________

__________________
Scottishnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 231
Tank is about a month old and was cycled before I added fish.
__________________
Scottishnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:33 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
The Jam-is-on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 219
I'm on my phone and not sure about the liter/gallon ratio. I would initially say that the ammo is coming from the tap water and would be fine treating with prime. I'd be more concerned though as to why its not going away if the tank is cycled.

What kind of filter? Is it rated at or above a 190L tank? It might be that the tank is not keeping up with the bio load.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
55 gallon FW Community | 55 gallon Malawi Mbuna
The Jam-is-on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:41 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 589
If you are using the API test kit, Prime and Amquel can affect the reading. I had a 75 gallon set up and was having the same problem..I use Prime and Amquel almost exclusively. My tap water was clear...surprise there . The fish werne't in any distress but I couldn't get rid of that .25 reading. I did a search to both API and Prime, sent e-mails to both. API admitted that the test is sensitive to both Prime and Amquel. When I switched to Stress Coat as a test, the Ammonia reading went to 0.

It may be something to try as well as the other suggestions.
__________________
tlkng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:45 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
The Jam-is-on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkng1
If you are using the API test kit, Prime and Amquel can affect the reading. I had a 75 gallon set up and was having the same problem..I use Prime and Amquel almost exclusively. My tap water was clear...surprise there . The fish werne't in any distress but I couldn't get rid of that .25 reading. I did a search to both API and Prime, sent e-mails to both. API admitted that the test is sensitive to both Prime and Amquel. When I switched to Stress Coat as a test, the Ammonia reading went to 0.

It may be something to try as well as the other suggestions.
I actually meant to include that. The API kit will still show the ammonia levels after its been treated with Prime. Prime detoxifies ammonia but it doesn't get rid of it. I can see this in my tanks too after a water change but the beneficial bacteria should be able to convert the ammonia within 24 hours and give you a zero reading.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
55 gallon FW Community | 55 gallon Malawi Mbuna
The Jam-is-on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 06:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 231
Ah ok will keep an eye on it, thanks x
__________________
Scottishnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:32 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shark_Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 414
Welcome aboard!!
__________________
When you buy tanks, just to sell them for more money then use that extra cash for your own fish.....You have a problem!
Shark_Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:37 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishkeeper88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois, United states of America
Posts: 625
Haha thanks shark bait
__________________
Remember Aquascaping is not just moving stuff around, it is an art. Happy aquascaping.
Fishkeeper88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:42 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shark_Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 414
You got it
__________________

__________________
When you buy tanks, just to sell them for more money then use that extra cash for your own fish.....You have a problem!
Shark_Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.