Hello, newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BJMRamage

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

New member here (obvious since I am posting here).

To start, I have 2 kids- 4 years and almost 1 year. This can keep me busy and sometimes not doing what I should with my tank.

I've had a freshwater, 55-gallon tank for maybe 5 years now, maybe more. There are about 14 (maybe up to 18, I can't remember offhand) fish. Silver dollars, cichlids (bought as Severums and thought fine in the tank until they ate $27 of fish in a day), clown loaches, algae eater, Pleco and rainbow fish. Some fish are still from the first few rounds of fish the first month.

I've just switched from 2 HOB filters to a Fluval 306. So quiet, though just installed it a few hours ago. The water before would be clean and clear for a while, switch to cloudy, then back and forth. And noisy as I would not change or add water as often as I should.

Anyway, found this site after looking up canister filters and trying to get a good filter media setup. And placement of the intake and output tubes. ALSO, a BIG thing I need to know or help with is an algae (guessing it is that) bloom. It is a dark green or brown or black Hair-like or fur coating on things.. I am colorblind so not sure he exact color.

I will post a thread specifically about those but if anyone has anodes, that would be great. And typing this on an iPad so not wanting to go crazy here tonight.

So...loved reading the threads tonight and seeing so many helpful folks on here.

Thanks.

I see there is an iOS app. (Though still pre-ios7)

Indeed there is. It is based off of forum runner - once forum runner updates, we will get a new version as well. It works fairly well for checking in on the go, but offers a lot less functionality than the full site.