Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-01-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Shellbell1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 1
Help need please. Looking to do a fishless cycle with household ammonia.

Hello,


Firstly a bit of background information. A few months ago my 5 year old son decided he want to get some tropical fish. Since then we have all been hooked.
We purchased a 2ft x 1ft tank set it all up and got a 6 zebra danios(local fish shop advised best way) to cycle the tank with. After doing a lot of research I now know this is cruel and won't do it this way again! To cut a log story short I have spent the last 4 week's being very obsessive keeping a daily check on fish, daily water tests & doing at least 3 water changes a week as soon as anything was rising. We are now showing 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and 5ppm of nitrate so finally there.

As a family we have all got completely addicted and purchased a 4ft bullet tank to upgrade to not cheap but hoping its going to look good once oher half has built it for me.

I have been reading a lot about using household ammonia to kick start a fishless cycle. Has anyone done this? If so is there an idiots guide out there? As it not hard to confuse me!

Look forward to hearing you advise.

Shellbell
__________________

__________________
Shellbell1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,802
Shell - Welcome!
For articles to answer your questions, go to "Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started" then go to "Stickies".
If you have more questions, then post them. Prolly best in a new thread in the appropriate forum/category.
Most likely household ammonia will not work unless it is free of dyes, fragrances, and surfactants (the latter makes it foamy if you shake it). I am aware of two sources: Ace Hardware or online look for Dr. Tim's Ammonium Chloride. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
When I first started, I cycled with ammonia. Couldn't find ammonia w/o surfactants or fragrance in HD or Lowes, but I did find it in Shoprite!
Now that you've got a filter with BB, adding some media from that to your new tank will greatly speed up your cycle.
__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.