hi everyone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kondoe

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm new to aquariums and haven't actually got one yet, but i was hoping to get plenty of advice before a get my first tank. :)

Welcome to AA where all your dreams come true! : D

Don't make the mistake of not cycling your tank before you get your fish. If you're not sure what that is, then have no fear! There are lots of people here that will help you! :) basically it's just building a large enough bacterial colony to allow fish to live. The bigger the tank the loner to cycle (it can even tank a month of cycling before even adding fish!)

If you're new to this hobby is definitely crucial that your purchase the API Freshwater test kits.

Since you said you don't even have an aquarium yet, then a saltwater tank is out of the question as those take older tanks.

Do you have any idea what kind of fish you want? : D

at the top of my list is a rainbow shark, i have just done some research on cycling the tank, and i will be getting a 150cmx50cmx50cm tank about 375 litres or 80gallons. and now that you say a larger tank takes longer to cycle i assume my tank will take a long time :)

Quite some time actually :eek: but you might get lucky! :)

Any other fish you're looking into? 80 gallons can house a bit

I don't believe that a larger tank will take longer to cycle. In a bigger tank you may have to add more to start the cycle but the time frame should be about the same. The whole thing is not to rush. And test your water before adding any life to the tank in the way of fishes.