Landscape Architect taking the plunge!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Atrian

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! I'm Atrian and I'm just starting my aquarium journey.

I'm a landscape architect, so I'm really focusing on the planted side of the aquarium and perfecting that. Obviously fish are a requirement of the ecosystem, plus they're just as enjoyable to watch and care for.

I decided it would be a good plan to join a community to get advice to avoid pitfalls. I've read through a lot of articles on here on substrate and lighting etc.

I've got a tank ordered and it's coming next week, so I'm preparing. I found a great local fish store with glowing recommendations and the owner was amazing with helping me order the right tank for my starting goals. It's a Aqueon 29G kit tank with LED lights.

I'm going to be doing a low-tech planted freshwater tank.

Right now, I'm looking for a good link for a plant directory that organizes by light requirements, growth rate, CO2 requirements, other important details (?), and most importantly, photos!

Also, any recommendations on great aquarium stores with selection in Central Coast California would be amazing.

Thanks! I'm looking forward to discussing everything with everybody, and will try and keep a photo/video journal of my progress.

One last thing. I saw from an online store that a Fiddler crab and nerite snail is a good addition for algae fighting. I've seen/gotten too many nerite snail recommendations to not get one, but was wondering on the fiddler crab for a planted tank. I haven't seen too much on that. Has anybody tried them?

-Atrian