Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-07-2013, 11:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

new tanker looking for any helpful advice

Hey guys new to the forum and to ra king all together...me and my wife and daughter have our first 10 gallon tank. We have a dalmation Mollie a mucky mouse Molly and a cerpaete5ra along with a nice little variety of live plants. Here because I'm new to this all and all ready for Amy helpful tips advice and thought. Thanks

Old 12-07-2013, 11:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

If you have male and female mollies they will breed like rats and will have 20 - 40 babies

Old 12-07-2013, 11:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Not sure if my Molly is male or female but at the moment it is just the one
Old 12-08-2013, 12:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Did you get one of those siphon hoses with the gravel vac on it? They are a must. A couple of 5 gallon buckets from Lowes are nice to have too.

They eat the babies if you don't stop them from doing it so it's not a huge deal, but your daughter might get upset if she sees it. I got one of the in tank breeding boxes, and I save a few babies every once in a while. I explained to my daughter that sometimes we just let the others eat them, and that it's part of how they live.
Old 12-08-2013, 03:18 AM   #5

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice

^Please read that. It's my biggest tip for you.

You'll need an API master liquid test kit. make sure you really read the instructions.

Good luck!
Old 12-08-2013, 11:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak

^^Everything said there is completely correct, but don't let that scare you off from the forum. We can make what you've got work. It's just going to take a little work and love.