New to forums, and aquariums!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

asnyds

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there!
I'm asnyds, and I'm new to both forums and aquariums.

I've never maintained an aquarium by myself and I've decided to start one, I'm getting either a 40, or 55 gallon tank in the next few days from my uncle.

I have a lot of ideas for my aquarium and have done good research on fish available in my area.

My community idea right now is as follows -

Von Rio flame tetra - 4

Black phantom tetra - 3

Two-three weeks later I'm going to add in

Either - 2 of the smaller growing pleco OR 2 dwarf Cory catfish.
Also at that time I'm going to add one golden dojo loach for show :)

Also I plan on themeing the tank to a fantasy type thing in the future. I'm starting it with black gravel and a mix of red and green faux plants, and then two or 3 big decorations I saw at a local store - a nice sized castle, and a large fanged skull. After that I may add 3-4 glo tetra and some neon gravel to highlight in the black gravel. Only doing that if I decide to get the light that makes the glo tetra and neons really pop.

Open to any and all suggestions!
Buying fish is only a few weeks away! :)

Asnyds

First of all, u need to do all the "new fish tank" cycles. Let the tank run ( fishless ) for a week or more. Test ur water every day and once the water levels r at normal range, then u can add fish. Do not add fish until u have finished the cycles.

If u want to get the cories or loach, I recommend getting sand instead of gravel. Gravel can and will scratch/cut the bottom of these bottom dwelling fish, causing infections and death. Gravel may work but u must make sure not to get any sharp gravel pieces.

I would only get 1 Pleco. However u can get two if the species can live together without aggressiveness when full grown.

Welcome!