New to Tropical Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

debbiemott

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm very new to having tropical fish and to be honest I want all the species

Now the problem is I don't know what is the correct amount to have in a tank and I don't know the size of my tank how would I be able to work this out?

So far I have:
7 cardinal tetras
2 Molly's
1 clown loach
3 coolie loach
3 frogs
1 gourami
1 pleccy
1 male Siamese fish
2 female Siamese fish
3 tetras gold stripe?

Hi and welcome! If you measure the tank you should be able to figure out the gallons. Here's a chart that may be helpful. You have a heavy stock list and some of those shouldn't be together in the same tank (e.g. male/female Bettas). There's no set stock rule really; you just have to research fish and see what they're requirements are and determine whether they are compatible with your tank size and other tank mates. You can always ask here too. There are some sites like aqadvisor where you can plug in your tank size, filtration, and fish it will give you a guideline as to whether they are compatible and how heavily stocked your tank is, but it's just a guide and isn't always accurate, so do your own research too.

How long have you had the tank set up? If it's new, it might still be cycling, so you'll want to read this: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice
and this has some good general info Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium - Aquarium Advice

Hi I have worked out it is a 55 litre tank

The shop sold me 1 make Siamese fighter and his two partners - was this incorrect then?

Thanks in advance

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390761240.566280.jpg view to
Kitchen in first pic and view to snug room in second - same tank