Newbie here (please be gentle)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kjwcpm

Aquarium Advice Regular
Greetings to all.

I am totally new to the aquarium hobby. And like many, started out poorly with the visit to (you guessed it) Wal-mart. Despite the improper start, I am looking to do right by my new aquatic friends.

So here's where I'm at currently. I have a 10 gallon Tetra starter tank with the included full lid and filter. I added the Tetra 2-15 Submersible Heater to allow for warmer water fish. I decided on a brackish environment for flexibility. Decor is basic - gravel base with a few small stones.

Our water is well water run through a softener. I used Jungle Start Right conditioner and Jungle Aquarium salt per the manufacturer's instructions. As of now Nitrates and Nitrites both test at 0, Alkalinity at 180 (KH) ppm and pH at roughly 7.6.

Now for the real concern I'm sure on this board - the fish inside. My initial group has two siamese algae eaters, a dwarf pink gourami and a green puffer. The last is obviously my biggest concern. I know, I know - too big for a 10g tank right? I've heard two stories. One from a friend who had puffers in smaller tanks and said they always self limited growth to ideal size for the environment. The other who follows the general hobbyist line that the 10g is too small.

I'm not in position to immediately purchase a larger tank and support it, though I should be able to by winter. So the question I have is the rate of growth for the puffer. Is there enough time to make it to winter, then get the larger tank and move it once the tank has been cycled? Or will it grow at too fast a pace to wait until then. I'd hate to have to return it to a LFS.

Currently all four seem to be in really good health and are interacting well together.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts and support you'd care to share.