Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-28-2011, 11:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Very High Nitrite! Please help!

Hello all. I am somewhat new to fish keeping and have a 20 gallon tank. I started out really small with a 5, 10, and now the 20. I am having troubles with my nitrite converting. This tank is about 6 weeks old and should be established already. I do 25% water changes once a week to try to help it along. I have not done a full water change because that is probably the worst thing you can do to a tank. I heard aquarium salt and or Nutrafin Cycle supplement can help speed up the process. Any ideas? Thanks in advance to all that respond.

Old 08-28-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

As far as I know, salt has no additionally helpful qualities as far as cyclin a tank. Some of the "pour-in" bacteria & enzyme products temporarily do add some sort of something, but the general consensus is that there is little overall benefit to those products.

I didn't catch if you had done a fishless or fish-in cycle...

Old 08-28-2011, 11:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

It is a fish in cycle. Two gouramis, Bala Shark, Clown Loach and a Pleco. Things seemed really fine and established. The tank had been really cloudy for a week and right before I ddecided to do a partial water change it cleared up on it's own. So right now here is how we do the tank changes..