Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-11-2010, 08:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 151
20G set-up

Well I just recieved a used 20 gallon tank from my cousin. I was wondering how I should set it up. I am thinking to start off with two gold fish. The bad part is that I don't have a lid for it. Would I need one if the fish don't jump? It also has a heater attached to the bottom and she gave me a test kit to go with it. I know I need a filter...What else would I need for this tank? I also need to know if I would need to cycle if it is used. It would still have bacterias in it, right? And is there a certain way I need to clean the tank?
__________________

__________________
Mako_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 73
You would still need to cycle it if there is currently no fish or water in it. For just a basic set-up with fish only you could get by with just what you have and a filter.
__________________

__________________
5 gallon FW planted w/ 1 male betta

I have experience with many freshwater aquariums of all sizes. I'm currently limited by my dorm room...
removedastars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 151
What are the readings for Nitrate and Nitrite suppose to be around?
__________________
Mako_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 11:05 PM   #4
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Let me google that for you
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mako_ View Post
What are the readings for Nitrate and Nitrite suppose to be around?
Nitrite readings should always be 0ppm unless the tank is cycling. Nitrate readings can vary, anywhere between 0ppm (usually only in a planted tank, but certainly possible otherwise with good maintenance) up to 40-60ppm ("safe" level really depends on who you ask, though above 20 usually means you need to do something different)... and of course ammonia should be 0ppm as well unless cycling

You'll probably see them from the google search HN1 posted, but if you dont, there are a couple articles in my signature detailing cycling and an overview of the nitrogen cycle
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 151
The cycling link HN1 sent me said that Nitrate should be at 7 or lower for fish to be safe. Is that usually what most people's tanks are at?
__________________
Mako_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to Flake
Ideal levels are 0. Safe levels vary on opinion. Mine are 0, it's not hard to achieve.
__________________
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:48 PM   #8
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
IMO.... in a FW tank, NO3 < 40 is "safe", < 20 much better, 0 is optimal but depends a lot on plant growth and stocking.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CA_BroncoFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 1,553
I think you should re-think the gold fish idea as they will quickly outgrow a 20 gal tank and the smaller the tank the dirtier it will be.
__________________
-CHAD
"Another Fish Tank!?!?!?!?" -My Wife
CA_BroncoFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 151
What type of fish would you suggest for a 20 gallon?
__________________

__________________
Mako_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, set-up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newly Set-up 20g log.. zephyr Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 09-07-2008 10:20 AM
45 Lb of LR in a 20g H kaboke Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-18-2007 11:27 AM
My new 20g chinoanoah Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 03-03-2007 09:27 PM
20g Redecorated fishfairy Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 6 07-29-2006 11:10 PM
New 20G MarineFlake Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-18-2004 08:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.