Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2006, 05:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
another ro/di question. old pipes.

i have old galvenized plumbimg im my house and was wondering if i would be able to use the water produced by my ro system in my reef tank.i have never heard this addressed beforeso i dont know what to think. i know an orpn filter is out of the question so i was just wondering what other problems to watch out for.
__________________

__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 12:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
The point of RO/DI is that it removes all kinds of disolved solids. It is almost completely pure. You should be able to use your RO water just fine.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 08:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
like they said the ro/DI will work out fine. You may need to replace filters more then most but IMO the water quality will be fine.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 11:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
I would get a lower GPD, like a 75 or lower. The higher GPD the less it takes out.
__________________
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 12:23 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
thanks, i saw the price of those iron filters and craped myself.
__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Make sure you get a TDS meter if you're worried about quality. It will let you know when to change filters.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pipes, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter pipes newfishhobbyist General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-27-2009 09:34 PM
what size of lily pipes should use if i have a eheim 2026 with 16/22MM pipes? sldp999 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-20-2008 11:14 AM
what size of lily pipes should use if i have a eheim 2026 with 16/22MM pipes? sldp999 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-01-2008 09:31 PM
water changes + copper pipes and another question Meredith Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-21-2005 02:13 PM
Plant/Cichlid/PVC Pipes nguyen27 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 12-13-2004 04:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.