Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2011, 05:06 AM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 47
Aqua clear 110

If im doing a brackish tank what do i use for the bed crushed coral and is a ac 110 to much power for a 20g tank ?
__________________

__________________
don0101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 248
The flow rate of an AC110 on the lowest setting is 166 gph. That is fine for a 20 gallon tank. If you were to use that filter on that tank, you would probably only need to clean it two or three times a year.
__________________

__________________
fishguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:52 AM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 47
how do u know u have a ac 110 man? really that be sick
__________________
don0101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 248
I have 2 of them, not that I use them anymore.
__________________
fishguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 11:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
I will buy one off ya
__________________
shadyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 11:57 AM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I have an AC110 and the flow fully reduced doesn't seem like it is only 166gph. I don't know how Hagen got that number, but it sure looks like a lot more flow than that (flow all the way down barely reduces the flow).
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 248
166 gph is a third of full flow - sounds about right. I actually never reduced the flow of the AC110s, but I have with the AC70 and smaller models and that seems to be consistent. Hagan reports that number - I am not making it up.

Sorry, they are my backups....gotta have backup filters in case.....
__________________

__________________
fishguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aqua clear mellowyellow General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 07-16-2010 09:00 PM
Aqua Clear problems? Taelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 03-29-2009 08:40 AM
aqua clear 500/110 sir_dudeguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-09-2006 01:56 PM
Aqua Clear Diffuser azn_fishy55 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 12-12-2005 02:32 AM
My aqua CLear feeder_guppy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-26-2005 01:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.