Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2005, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Aqua Clear Diffuser

Since my attempt to make my self a Vortex reactor failed I am with a high light tank and no CO2 diffuser.So I shoved the CO2 tube into the intake tube.Will this work for awhile while I look for a suitable diffuser for my tank?The tank is 30 gallons with 95 watt cp with potting soil/shult's aquatic soil/sand substrate,with a total substrate depth of 2 in.I intend to add one more inch of sand when I buy more plants and replant.The media in the aquaclear is 1 sponge and 1 bag of bio max(has been in another tank for about a month or two to culture bateria);no carbon.
__________________

__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 12:55 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Can you test the KH and pH of rested tap and after injection? If you get at least 20ppm CO2 I think you will be okay. Do not test until the lights are on for at least a couple hours, and your goal should be to make sure CO2 never falls below 30ppm. What happened with the DIY Vortex? Members here might be able to help you through it if you want to try again.
__________________

__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 01:19 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
lol I tried to make to make the reactor in an odd way.The gravel tube was horizontal and the bubbles would be blasted into the water stream and ram into the filter floss.The problem is that it didn't diffuser very well and some CO2 gas would escape compared to the full diffusion of the CO2 gas in the AquaClear filter.I am going to try monday because I am going to buy more plants and buy a KH test tomorrow.Also what do you mean by retested tap water?
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 01:30 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Let the tap water sit before testing so CO2 gasses off. I waited a day. If the KH and pH are around 3ppm, the KH/pH chart will be useful. If not, you have to go by observation and maybe infer CO2 from pH drop.

I doubt the AquaClear is giving you full diffusion fwiw, because I get better numbers with other methods. If you do not mind the noise and the numbers are good, it is all the reactor you need though.

Why not make the reactor tube vertical? You can shorten the tube like the Mini-Vortex if you want. Aquabotanic is apparently coming out with glass diffusors that start at $9 soon, btw. Might be worth the wait.
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 01:42 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Well I had an old pump but I didn't know how to put it vertical since it has to be on its side to stick on the wall and I wanted to buy a new pump but a rio 50 pump is 21 bucks which I think is really expensive.So what are your methods of diffusing that were very successful.I am open to ideas.Also what is this CO2 chart?
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 02:14 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_co2chart.htm

Leave a little tubing between the gravel vac and powerhead, so the vac can be vertical even if the pump isnt. The traditional powered diffusor design is very good, but this layout may be easy to turn into a Barr venturii reactor. My best diffusion has been with integration with a Thoene river tank (diagram) or injecting into my return pump (>3ft of piping, similar to injecting into the return line of a strong canister). Both methods are overkill for my setup.

I have a 10gal going now with only a powered diffusor for water movement. I cannot use the chart because pH after injection is below my test and am going by plant observation, and believe I am getting great diffusion. (I am intentionally softening the water, and there are no animals in the tank.) I cannot stress enough that a traditional powered diffusor is good, quiet, and easy, and you do not need to make things more complicated if you do not want to, as long as you reach at least 30ppm CO2.

(DIY CO2 is unstable. IME it is best to keep nominal output at 30ppm CO2 or higher for high light, so lack of stability is less important.)

HTH
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 03:48 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Have you made the Barr Venturi Reactor before?I am comfused on building it and what parts are needed.Like what powerhead should I use,and where to connect all the tubing etc.TIA
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
I have not built his reactor. There is a link with pictures of assembly above the diagram.
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 02:32 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Its okay,I bought a Sailfert CO2 test kit instead of a KH test kit and according to it,my CO2 ppm is 30-40 ppm.I put 30-40 ppm because the light was dim and I couldn't really see the color and I think I did the test wrong so yeah.I went ahead and bought another bubble ladder and see if the ppm of CO2 is high or low and if I should use the AquaClear as a diffuser or the bubble ladder.Tahnks for the help.
__________________

__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear, diffuser

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua Clear problems? Taelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 03-29-2009 08:40 AM
Aqua Clear 20 (Mini) For Sale An t-iasg Archive 2 01-15-2007 12:38 PM
Noisy Aqua Clear 50. Help. pwrflpills Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 04-06-2006 03:26 AM
Aqua Clear Filter Necessary? weekf General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 01-01-2006 11:01 PM
My aqua CLear feeder_guppy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-26-2005 01:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.