Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2008, 11:11 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
Quote:
Originally Posted by itafx View Post
I got my Eheim 2026 running. It's powerful and quiet which I like. But it was extremely hard to prime. In fact, I couldn't press the disk on top hard enough while under my aquarium stand to prime it. What I ended up doing was to insert a piece of air line tubing up into the intake tube and use a syringe attached to the other end of the air line tubing under water to push enough water up and around the top bend to get it to prime. What a pain!!

I ordered and received and set up today an Eheim spray bar attachment. It was wonderfully designed and fit great. Best of all, it had a cap you could unscrew and insert a funnel and prime just like the Filstar canisters. I guess Eheim figured out that at least some of their "easy" priming designs didn't work so well after all. They sure charge a lot for their accessories though.
The seals need lubed when it gets that hard. Mine came with a tube to lube up the seals.

I have always just pushed down on the primer to get it filled. Your water level will need to be pretty high for it to start.

The caps on the attachments are for cleaning the tubes out. The caps come on both the intake and output sides. I really like them. Every 6 months or so, I just run a brush down the tubes to clean out all the gunk that gets built up over time.
__________________

__________________
My Planted Aquariums
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 06:06 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkilling1 View Post
The caps on the attachments are for cleaning the tubes out. The caps come on both the intake and output sides. Every 6 months or so, I just run a brush down the tubes to clean out all the gunk that gets built up over time.
Hmmm. That sounds very interesting. I don't have a lot of experience with canister filters, but I was thinking the gunk in the lines would include a high concentration of beneficial bacteria. Do you think this might be true? Also, I've never had a canister filter that had the caps on both intake and output. The Filstar only has it on the output...
__________________

__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, canister filters, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filters zenkatydid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 05-14-2008 04:57 PM
Which of these canister filters are better? Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 04-02-2005 11:57 PM
Canister filters, what do you think? BDAWG Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 02-25-2005 03:36 PM
Canister filters? Mazdaman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-19-2005 11:44 PM
Canister Filters? lmw80 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 05-30-2004 01:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.