Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-13-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chas.wv
Posts: 22
cleanning AC filter

how often should you clean filter .

jim
__________________

__________________
bluefishr88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 12:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefishr88 View Post
how often should you clean filter .

jim
Whenever it's dirty is my rule. I just watch the flow and if it slows, I rinse in tank water from a PWC. Don't use tap water, it'll kill the bacteria.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 01:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
And also if u find that u have a high nitrate and it doesn't seem to be goin down through pwc. Change ur filter maybe something rotting in there.
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chas.wv
Posts: 22
thanks , do i have to run carbon , can i run sponge and bio things would that be ok .

jim
__________________
bluefishr88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefishr88 View Post
thanks , do i have to run carbon , can i run sponge and bio things would that be ok .

jim
You don't need to run carbon, I only use it when I'm removing meds. I put a small wad of poly-fil between the sponge and biomedia, to catch the fine gunk the sponge can't get. Works great for me .
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 08:03 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nanaimo, BC Canada
Posts: 40
I am curious, what does bio-media do that a sponge does not do? I use AquaClear HOB filters with two sponges only in them. When it is time to clean them I take the one on the bottom rinse it in tank water and put it on top. Never had a problem, never used bio-media or carbon and my water is great.
__________________
halfcent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 08:57 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfcent
I am curious, what does bio-media do that a sponge does not do? I use AquaClear HOB filters with two sponges only in them. When it is time to clean them I take the one on the bottom rinse it in tank water and put it on top. Never had a problem, never used bio-media or carbon and my water is great.
Bio media is for biological filtration. Where ur sponges are mechanical filtration but it can house beneficial bacteria but not as much as bio-media
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 09:47 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
For many years, prior to the renaming, AC filters had only the sponge insert for bio media, and they worked very well.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 10:06 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nanaimo, BC Canada
Posts: 40
I would think that a sponge has far more surface area for growing the bacteria then bio-media. It is the area throughout the sponge, not just the outside that is the medium for growing the good stuff. At least that was the way I thought it worked. lol
__________________
halfcent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 11:36 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
The biomedia is porous there by creating a load of surface area. I rinse my sponges out every 4-6 weeks. I do not think I have bought a sponge for an AC in years.
__________________

__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cleanning up my sand bed noob2saltH20 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 04-02-2011 12:12 AM
Need Filter Reccommendation, 5.5G w/ betta, Whattabout the Elite Hush 5 Power Filter michaelg210 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-17-2010 10:01 PM
Advise h99 filter skimmer filter system Demitrio555 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 12-01-2009 05:57 AM
new cleanning crew for the tank kreativ05 New Acquisitions 2 07-21-2009 05:56 PM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.